krotpress.blogg.se

Charlie wilson new album youtube
Charlie wilson new album youtube




But I would’ve told myself that you’re going to be fine. But I would’ve told myself not to go around the corner and stay at that party for as long as I did, because I was at the party until I was the only one there for many, many years, and never came out, which led to my demise. I would tell myself that everything will be fine with you you’re going to go through something but everything is going to be OK. I would tell myself not to get caught up in the party scene. Looking back, what would you tell 18-year-old Charlie? We just got to continue to stay fresh with it. You can listen to some of the biggest names in the world and you’re going to hear some “shabadaba dwee dwee dwee” or some Charlie Wilson runs- I won’t say names but you’ll hear some Charlie Wilson runs in there! I’m a leader- I’m the leader out here, so when I come I noticed they don’t either put their record out or they scoot over because I’m coming for you if you’re at the top! I noticed a lot of pop superstars are using the R&B sound to get to where they want to go. So I had to come on back! I had to come on back! And I think I got a hold of the R&B world and have so for the last 17 years. The 90s was OK, but since I wasn’t around at that time, the 90s fizzled out. When the 90s came in, it was the male singers who had been listening to Charlie Wilson and The Gap Band and they took that sound, that vocal sound and ran off with it. Then everybody started trying to change their music style and I just knew it was a bad idea to try that. Thank God for Michael Jackson because he stood the test of time and just blew everybody out. Then MTV just took over back in the day and took the shine from radio stars. What happened?Īt that time I think hip hop just took over. And then it helps other people because at that moment you think about how blessed you are and you just might as well get your shout on for 15 seconds.Ĭharlie, you’re a veteran in the music industry, but music has changed so much- in particularly R&B, since the 80s and 90s. I know a lot of people look at me like, ‘Why is he doing that?’ When they come to these shows they don’t know what to expect they may be a little tipsy or drunk or whatever, and for me to start going to church and shouting it might make them feel a little funny.īut I must, I must, I must continue to honor my word to my Heavenly Father. God has been faithful to me all of these years so it’s my turn to be faithful back and stay true to my word. Every time I step to the stage I’m going to do that. I already promised God that every time I get on the stage I would shout Him out and have a little church. I first saw you in concert last year at the Essence Festival and you took us to church Charlie! Why is it so important for you to share your testimony? I just believe in cutting great music and staying fresh as I can. This is my best work that I’ve ever did.Įvery time I do another album each year, two years, I set the bar higher for myself. I have T.I., Wiz Khalifa, Robin Thicke and Lalah Hathaway- I needed to have a different person for each song from another genre to help me tell a story. I’m so happy I get a chance to have a lot more features- I love Snoop Dogg, he’s always there for me. And I’ve been wanting to have this discussion on record with my fans. And I have a lot of features- I’ve never had features before and I’ve never gotten this close to talk about faith- this is my first time. The Source: Congratulations on your new album, In It To Win It! What separates this album from your other solo projects?Ĭharlie Wilson: On this one I talk a lot about having faith and lots of love. The Source caught up with Charlie as he prepares for his Chicago tour stop on Saturday, February 25 as he talked about his new album, and his incredibly inspiring words of wisdom.- Angela Wilson

charlie wilson new album youtube

A product of salvation, mercy and grace, Charlie is not only a talented performer, who could give those half his age a run for their money, he’s extremely inspirational.

charlie wilson new album youtube charlie wilson new album youtube

Never one to shy away from revealing a sketchy past, peppered with stints of drugs, alcohol abuse and homelessness, Wilson unapologetically gives all glory to God, showing fans his piece of heaven. His eighth solo album, featuring Wiz Khalifa, T.I., Lalah Hathaway, Snoop Dogg, Robin Thicke and Pitbull, solidifies Wilson’s reverenced position in music. A massively successfully career, spanning over four decades, is a musicians dream, but to Charlie, is a daily reality.






Charlie wilson new album youtube